President Lincoln Receives Disjointed Appeal for Mercy and Help

June 12, 1864

Widow Ann Bowden writes President Lincoln a disjointed and imaginatively spelled plea for help: “Most worthey presedent please Excuase Me for takeing this Liberty But I Cannot Express my Grate gratitude for your kindness in granting Me the order for My Son john H Bowden’s of Chicago discharge what Goverment Bounty he has receved I have that Unbroken to refuned But the 1 hundred Dollers County Bounty I have Not Got It as I had to Use it Last winter to Maintain My Sick Boy and a dependant Sister I have Bin a widow Eleven years My Oldest Son a Loosing his health on Cheat Mountain Makes it Vary Bad for Us our kind president If you Can releave Me So that I Can take My Boy home with me I feel that God will reward you and I No he will Bless all your Undertakings please Answare.”

Published in: on June 12, 2014 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://abrahamlincolnandthecivilwar.wordpress.com/2014/06/12/president-lincoln-receives-disjointed-appeal-for-mercy-and-help/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

