President Lincoln Memorializes Deceased Congressman Lovejoy

May 30, 1864

President Lincoln writes John H. Bryant regarding a memorial for deceased Illinois Congressman Owen Lovejoy: “Many of you have known Lovejoy longer than I have, and are better able than I to do his memory complete justice. My personal acquaintance with him commenced only about ten years ago, since when it has been quite intimate; and every step in it has been one of increasing respect and esteem, ending, with his life, in no less than affection on my part. It can be truly said of him that while he was personally ambitious, he bravely endured the obscurity which the unpopularity of his principles imposed, and never accepted official honors, until those honors were ready to admit his principles with him. Throughout my heavy, and perplexing responsibilities here, to the day of his death, it would scarcely wrong any other to say, he was my most generous friend. Let him have the marble monument, along with the well-assured and more enduring one in the hearts of those who love liberty, unselfishly, for all men.”

President Lincoln writes Maryland Governor Thomas H. Hicks regarding his son: “This little gentleman has seen me, and now carries my respects back to his good father, Gov Hicks..” The governor, who had lost a foot to amputation, had written the president: “Will you allow my little boy (son) to see and shake hands with you before he leaves for Home at 3 oclock. he is quite anxious to see you. I shall be glad for my man to go with him as he is small. I sit at yr door in carriage until I hear your determination. wish I could climb the stair way as formerly, and see yr Honor myself.”

White House aide William O. Stoddard writes in an anonymous newspaper dispatch: “The past week has been a variable one, but on the whole not unfavorable to military operations. Both armies have been straining every nerve, and watching each other’s every movement with the sleepless eyes of men who know that blunders now on either side might bring the msot fatal consequences.”

Published in: on May 30, 2014 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://abrahamlincolnandthecivilwar.wordpress.com/2014/05/30/president-lincoln-memorializes-deceased-congressman-lovejoy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

