President Lincoln Seeks to Aid Congressional Ally

May 25, 1864

President Lincoln writes Chicago Congressman Isaac N. Arnold: “In regard to the order of General Burnside suspending the Chicago Times now nearly a year ago, I can only say I was embarrassed with the question between what was due to the Military service on the one hand, and the Liberty of the Press on the other, and I believe it was the despatch of Senator Trumbull and yourself, added to the proceedings of the meeting which it brought me, that turned the scale in favor of my revoking the order. I am far from certain to-day that the revocation was not right; and I am very sure the small part you took in it, is just ground to disparage your judgment, much less to impugn your motives. I take it that your devotion to the Union and the Administration can not be questioned by any sincere man.”

Facing a challenge for renomination Arnold had written President Lincoln: `My friends . . . write to me, that in the canvass now going on in my district for Congress, the principal charges used against me, are: First that I am responsible for the revocation of the order of Genl. Burnside suppressing the Chicago Times, & that You are indifferent or more than indifferent about my re-election….I am desirous in case of your re-election (which for the sake of the country may God grant) of remaining in congress….

If you would address a note . . . stating how far I was responsible for the Burnside order, & whether I had been a faithful friend, I am sure it would be discreetly used, would probably secure my election, & be ever gratefully remembered.

President Lincoln write General George G. Meade: “Mr. J. C. Swift wishes a pass from me to follow your army to pick up rags and cast-off clothing. I will give it to him if you say so, otherwise not.”

Published in: on May 25, 2014 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://abrahamlincolnandthecivilwar.wordpress.com/2014/05/25/president-lincoln-seeks-to-aid-congressional-ally/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

