President Lincoln Nominates General Ulysses S. Grant for Lieutenant General

March 1, 1864

The nomination of General Ulysses S. Grant as lieutenant general is sent to the Senate.  Congressman Elihu B. Washburne writes presidential aide John G. Nicolay regarding the nomination of Grant to be lieutenant general and general-in-chief: “When the Commission shall have been made out the President will write a letter to Genl. Grant and will hand both to you to be sent to me, at Louisville, Kentucky, by express.1 I suppose all will not be ready till the last of this week. When you start them by express to me at Louisville, please telegraph me at Galena, Illinois, as follows, “Papers leave to-day”. I shall leave Galena at once, and reach Louisville, as soon as the papers.  I told the President that I had talked with you fully on the subject, and he understands.”  Washburne was Grant’s friend and congressional sponsor.

President Lincoln writes Secretary of the Army Edwin M. Stanton: “A poor widow, by the name of Baird, has a son in the Army, that for some offence has been sentenced to serve a long time without pay, or at most, with very little pay. I do not like this punishment of withholding pay—it falls so very hard upon poor families. After he has been serving in this way for several months, at the tearful appeal of the poor Mother, I made a direction that he be allowed to enlist for a new term, on the same conditions as others. She now comes, and says she can not get it acted upon. Please do it.”

Navy Secretary Gideon Welles writes in diary: “Very little of importance to-day at the Cabinet.  Neither Chase nor Blair was present.  Gen. F. Blair made, I am told, a severe speech against Chase, in the House on Saturday. It is unfortunate that these assaults should be made on political friends, or those who should be friends. I shall be sorry if, under the existing circumstances, Chase should be a candidate for President. If he asks my opinion I shall advise him not to enter the field; but I do not expect that he will ask my advice, he probably knows my opinions. Some of his training measures do not strike me favorably, but I am sorry General Blair should assail them with such acrimony. There is, however, a feeling of partisanship in St. Louis and Missouri that is unsparing. Chase has, I have thought unnecessarily and unwisely, identified himself with the radical element there, the enemies of Blair.”

Tuesday evening receptions were normally open to all, but tonight the Lincolns entertain only members of Congress and their families.

Published in: on March 1, 2014 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://abrahamlincolnandthecivilwar.wordpress.com/2014/03/01/president-lincoln-nominates-general-ulysses-s-grant-for-lieutenant-general/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

