President Lincoln Worries about Racial Troubles in Missouri

February 26, 1863

Attorney General Edward Bates talks with President Lincoln at War Dept. about antidraft disturbances in Bates’ home state of Missouri.  Bates writes in his diary: “I found Mr. Stanton in consultation with the Prest and the Genl. in chief (Halleck) and perhaps I ought to have retired, but, being invited in, I entered and made a brief statement – Mr. S’s manner was impatient and brusque – not to say uncivil – He, plainly, did not understand my object, and answered as if to an accusation – said the draft com[mis]s]ione]r. (Mr. Pors) was appointed by his authority, under the cons:[cript] Law and the genl. Laws of war.  I said there was a statute which perhaps gave the P. the power.  He seemed to acquiesce, referring to the act of [ ] July, 62 – and said refer the papers to him, and he’d give full answer. – I said, well, and left – but there is nothing to refer to Mr. Stanton.” Bates added: “When I entered, the Prest rose, and with a bland countenance, advanced and shook [h]ands.  The Secy.l and the Genl. Kept their seats, and I thought looked disturbed and sulky.  The genl. I know ‘has no love for me,’ and the Secy. I fear, would break with me outright, if he thought it quite safe. I shall be prudent with both, taking good care not [to] trust myself in their power – in any thing [.]”

Published in: on February 26, 2013 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://abrahamlincolnandthecivilwar.wordpress.com/2013/02/26/president-lincoln-worries-about-racial-troubles-in-missouri/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

