President Lincoln Attempts to Pacify General Franz Sigel

February 5, 1863

President Lincoln wrote General Franz Sigel to soften an earlier communication in he had communicated that he had “given General Sigel as good a command as he can, and desires him to do the best he can with it.”   Sigel had complained about a reduction in the size of his command.   Lincoln now writes: “Gen. Schurz thinks I was a little cross in my late note to you.  If I was, I ask pardon.  If do get up a little temper I have no sufficient time to keep it up.”  He added: “I believe I will not now issue any new order in relation to the matter in question; but I will be obliged, if Gen. Hooker consistently can, and will give an increased Cavalry command to Gen. [Julius] Stah[e]l.  You may show Gen. Hooker this letter if you choose.”

Lincoln also sought a job for the son of his Illinois friend, Edward D. Baker, who had died at the Battle of Balls’ Bluff in October 1861: “I would like to give the son of my old friend, Col. Baker one of the places or vacancies created by this act, Will the Com. Genl. please arrange it for me?”

President Lincoln writes the Senate in regard to agreements with the Peruvian government: “I submit to the Senate for consideration with a view to ratification a “Convention between the United States of America and the Republic of Peru, providing for the reference to the King of Belgium of the claims arising out of the capture and confiscation of the ships Lizzie Thompson and Georgiana” – signed at Lima on the 20th, December, 1862.”

General and Mrs. Randolph Marcy, parents of General George B. McClellan’s wife Ellen, visit the Lincolns.

Published in: on February 5, 2013 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://abrahamlincolnandthecivilwar.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/president-lincoln-attempts-to-pacify-general-franz-sigel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

