President Lincoln is Solicited for a Donation

January 11, 1863

Benjamin Brown French, the federal commissioner of buildings solicits a contribution from President Lincoln: “You will recollect that I called on you more than a year ago to solicit a contribution for the aid of the families of our District Volunteers, and you then told me that whenever I wanted $200 for that purpose to call and you would give it to me. I have hoped that such a necessity might not occur, but I am now reduced in funds so much as to render some contributions indespensible. I have paid out about $22000, & have less than $300 on hand.

I trust Our Fair in the Patent Office will yield enough to carry us through this winter, & I pray that ere another we may overthrow the rebellion.  If you will send me check for $200 I shall be very much obliged.”

Meanwhile, President  Lincoln writes Vermont Senator Jacob Collamer: “If not going to church please call & see me at once; & if to church, please call as soon after, as convenient.”

Published in: on January 11, 2013 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://abrahamlincolnandthecivilwar.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/president-lincoln-is-solicited-for-a-donation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

