President Exchanges Correspondence with North Carolina Military Governor

September 29, 1862

President Lincoln wrote North Carolina Military Governor Edward Stanly: Your note informing me that you will leave for North Carolina soon, is received. Your conduct as Military Governor of that State, as reported to me by Gen. Burnside, and as I have heard it personally from yourself, has my entire approbation; and it is with great satisfaction that I learn you are now to return in the same capacity, with the approbation of the War Department.”  Looking forward to Reconstruction, President Lincoln writes: “I shall be much gratified if you can find it practicable to have congressional elections held in that State before January. It is my sincere wish that North Carolina may again govern herself conformably to the constitution of the United States.”  Stanly had written President Lincoln: “I have completed my business with the War Department, and shall very soon be ready to start for North Carolina. . . . Allow me to express my deep gratification, on learning from your own lips, after a full and free conference, that my conduct as Military Governor . . . , which had been misrepresented and misunderstood, had met your approbation, as well as that of the Secretary of War.”  Appointed in May 1862, the former North Carolina governor would differ with President Lincoln on the Emancipation Proclamation and resign in March 1863.

Published in: on September 29, 2012 at 9:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://abrahamlincolnandthecivilwar.wordpress.com/2012/09/29/president-exchanges-correspondence-with-north-carolina-military-governor/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

