General McClellan Complains to His Wife

April 18, 1862

“No Genl ever labored under greater disadvantages, but I will carry it through in spite of everything,” wrote General George B. McClellan to his wife Ellen.  To Secretary of War Edwin M. Stanton, McClellan boasts: “I cannot hope such good fortune as that the enemy will take the offensive.  I am perfectly prepared for any attack the enemy may make…I bet that the Presdt will be satisfied that the enemy cannot gain anything by attacking me — the more he does attack the better I shall be contented.” McClellan writes President Lincoln again to demand more troops:

If compatible with your impressions as to the security of the Capital and not interfering with operations of which I am ignorant I would be glad to have McCall’s Division so as to be enabled to make a strong attack upon West Point to turn position of the enemy.  After all that I have heard of things which have occurred since I left Washington & before I would prefer that Genl McDowell should not again be assigned to duty with me [crossed out: Better that some other field of action should be given him.]

Published in: on April 18, 2012 at 12:07 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://abrahamlincolnandthecivilwar.wordpress.com/2012/04/18/general-mcclellan-complains-to-his-wife/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

